Sharing your views

This information is to help community members participate in both our monthly board meetings as well as our subcommittees. Uptown Planners seeks to make our community planning process as accessible, transparent and engaging as possible.

Meeting Participation

Members of the public are encouraged to attend both our board meetings as well as our committee meetings. Members of the public may speak during the non-agenda comment portion of each meeting. Public comment can also be taken on agenda items at the chair’s discretion.

When you arrive at one of our meetings, you may wish to sign the sign-in sheet to assist in listing attendees in the Minutes. (Signing-in is optional, though the sign-in sheet is used during elections to establish eligibility to run for a seat.). NOTE: When meeting via Zoom, sign in using the Chat feature.

Those wishing to provide written comments on agenda items to the entire board for its review prior to a meeting are asked to email them to the board chairperson using the Uptown Planners contact form.

Public comment sheets may be available at meetings to help the board recognize speakers and record their interest.

See the next section, Meeting Location Details, for specific location information and updates.

bracket-up-leftUpcoming Meetings

December 7, 2021 – Board Meeting
6 – 9:30 pm via Zoom (instructions in the agenda)

Chair: Tom Mullaney 619-889-5626

Meeting minutes: Documents > Minutes

TBD – Plan Hillcrest  Committee (Ad Hoc)
AGENDA | Chair: Roy Dahl

Plan Hillcrest Meetings and Updates

TBD – Election Committee
AGENDA | Chair: Steve Cline

TBD – Design Review Committee
AGENDA | Chair: Brer Marsh

TBD – Public Facilities Committee
AGENDA Chair: Stu McGraw

TBD – Historic Preservation Committee
AGENDA | Chair: Mary Brown

TBD – Operations & Outreach Committee
AGENDA  | Chair: Lu Rehling

Our Committees

Committees of the Uptown Planners are working committees. Our committees perform a helpful role in clarifying issues, going through details, allowing fuller discussion on topics, and preparing recommendations for action to the full board. Committees assist our board by allowing it to focus on decision-making within the limited amount of time each month during which the full board is seated.

Uptown Planners maintains four standing committees: Design Review, Public Facilities, Historic Resources, and Operations & Outreach. The board from time to time also creates special purpose (or “ad hoc”) subcommittees. Members of the public are welcome to attend and participate in our committee meetings. Committee chairs place notices about meeting times and location on our website 72 hours in advance. And we do our best to share these notices via social media. If you wish to contact a committee chair directly, please send a message to our board chair using our contact form.

bracket-up-leftCommittee Membership

Plan Hillcrest Committee (Ad Hoc)  – Chair: Roy Dahl
Members: Gail Friedt, Brer Marsh, Mary McKenzie, Matt Medeiros, Tom Mullaney, Lu Rehling, Mat Wahlstrom

Election Committee (Ad Hoc)  – Chair: Steve Cline
Members: Gail Friedt, Mary McKenzie, Helen Rowe Allen

Design Review Committee – Chair:  Brer Marsh
Members: Michael Brennan, Chris Cole, Gail Friedt, Matt Medeiros, Lu Rehling

Public Facilities Committee – Chair:  Stu McGraw
Members: Mary Brown, Mary McKenzie

Historic Resources Committee – Chair: Mary Brown
Members: Helen Rowe Allen, Stu McGraw, Lu Rehling, Mat Wahlstrom

Operations & Outreach Committee – Chair: Lu Rehling
Members: Stu McGraw, Mary McKenzie, Matt Medeiros, Mat Wahlstrom

Meeting Location

The Board meets the 1st Tuesday of every month (except January and July). We typically meet at the Joyce Beers Community Center, 3900 Vermont St, San Diego (located just east of the Trader Joe’s store in The Hub). Special meetings may be held at other venues located in Uptown. Committee meetings are held in other accessible public spaces such as the Hillcrest/Mission Hills Public Library. All meetings are posted on the Uptown Planners website at least 72 hours in advance.

NOTE: When meetings are held via Zoom, instructions for joining will be included with the meeting agenda.

Please contact the board chair via our contact form if you have any special requests or needs for a meeting.